Creative · poetry · Review · Spoken Word · writing

A Spoken Word Experience

I couldn’t find an appropriate photo to use that was solely of LSU Art’s Speech Bubble event, so the one I’ve selected will have to do.

I have always wanted to go to this event of spoken word, ever since I was a Fresher (and trust me, that’s a long time ago now!!), and have never plucked up the courage to go along with my own work.

Now, as a Creative Writing MA student and actively writing a lot of different stuff for experimental purposes, I came up with a concept for a play that I rather enjoyed. After working on it for a couple of weeks, honing the ideas and the characters, I finally bit the bullet and got myself put on the performance list.

It was a little unusual, considering the fact that most spoken word performances at Speech Bubble are poetry-based and the like, but I was encouraged to go ahead with it all the same.

I don’t think I’ve ever felt so nervous as I did last night waiting to go on stage. It’s one thing entirely to get up on stage and perform a monologue from another play, but reading and performing your own work…

Well, that’s another kettle of fish entirely.

I pumped myself full of Dutch courage (AKA, one cocktail and a spirit and mixer… doesn’t take much these days) and got ready to get up there and showcase my work to the full room of spoken word enthusiasts, hoping that my lack of practise and shaky confidence wouldn’t be visible to them.

I may not have mentioned previously, but for my Undergraduate degree and in my spare time, I’ve done a lot of acting. As such, I’m never normally terrified of getting up on stage to perform. Heck, I really enjoy it!!

However… I’ve only just gotten comfortable with reading some of my prose aloud, and that’s what I’m most confident about.

Nevertheless, back to the original point.

I was honestly overwhelmed with the positive response that I received, in spite of performing something so off-the-wall. Everybody was so supportive! While it was honestly a very nerve-wracking experience that I was very close to back out of on numerous occasions, it proved to be…

Invaluable.

Now that I’ve done it once, I would very much love to perform again!

It’s a fabulous thing that the event is only once every term or so; my heart couldn’t cope with more than one in a certain amount of nervous performance!!!

To everybody who also performed, and the headliners, you were so fantastic and I want to thank all of you for a marvellous evening.

Leave a Reply

